Skip to main content

How To Change User Roles

Introduction

Changing a user role in Farsight® is a simple process. Organization Admins can easily change any user's role and permissions in Farsight®. Supervisors are limited to managing the roles and permissions of Operators only, and cannot modify Admins.

Edit User

  1. Hover over your account name

  2. Hover over Settings

  3. Click on Users, roles and permissions to open the Users page

  4. Input the user's email in the search bar and hit Enter to search for them

  5. Check the current user role, site access, and module access

  6. Click on the pencil icon to edit the user

Change User Roles

  1. Admin Access:

    • Toggle on to grant the user administrative privileges

    • The user will have unrestricted access to your organization, including the billing details

  2. Legal Entities (SPVs) Access:

    • Select from the dropdown which SPVs the user should have access to. The user will only be able to see the assets assigned to those SPVs

  3. Site Access:

    • If you click on Select All, the user will receive access to see all sites that you have access to in your organization

    • If you want to grant them access to only a few specific sites, you will have to click on the dropdown and manually select the sites you want to give them access to. By default, a new user will not have access to any sites

  4. Supervisor Access:

    • Toggle on to grant supervisor access

  5. Module Access:

    • If you click on Select All, a dropdown will appear where you can select all access for that user for all modules, either None, Edit or View

    • All modules except Asset Manager are selected with Edit access by default. You can select or deselect any individual module access to how you wish your new user to have access

  6. Click on the Save Changes button to update the user

Input

Definition

Admin Access (Admin role)

With system access, an Admin has full access across your entire organization in Farsight®. They can view and manage all Sites and Modules, invite new users, onboard new power plants, and even access billing details.

Supervisor role

A Supervisor can view and make changes (write permissions). For Modules, they can access and delegate everything except Billing.

Site Access (Operator role)

An Operator only has access to the Sites and Modules that are specifically enabled for them. They won’t be able to make changes unless you give them Edit permission.

Note: Operators and Supervisors only get access to sites explicitly added to them. Any pre-existing or newly added sites must be granted to them manually.

Related Content

Did this answer your question?